Tutorial: How to make layouts with templates

If you are new to digital scrapbooking, using a digital scrapbooking template is a great way to start. I remembered when I started, staring at a blank 12 in x 12 in page could feel daunting. How can I fill up all that space? I really almost gave up as I though that it was taking way too much time to create a scrapbook layout. That is until I learned about templates. It’s so much easier to scrap with templates and I don’t feel so intimidated anymore. It gives me something to start and I can change things here and there as I made the layout into my own unique page.

My templates are available in without shadow .png format, shadowed and without shadow .psd format, and shadowed and without shadow .tiff format. The .png format is generally for people who use Storybook creator software where they need to rebuild the template by adding the .png files one by one. I only have Photoshop CS5 so that is the program that I will be showing you all on how to make a layout with my template.

Shadowed vs no shadow

Shadowing is a whole new topic that we could discuss in scrapbooking. I’m not going to go into detail here. If you are beginner it would be easier to use the shadowed version so you don’t have worry about shadowing.

For this tutorial I am going to use the .psd shadowed file.

This is what it looks like when I clicked open the page. We will be working a lot with the layer window (bottom right). If it doesn’t show up in your photoshop you can find it through Windows –> Layers.

If you look at the layers window, you will see that I have named each layer according to its function (paper, flower, photo, etc.). Let’s start from the bottom and work our way up.

First click on the bottom paper layer, then choose the paper that you want to put in the place of that and just drag it to your template. It will be automatically added above the paper layer. There are several ways you can do this. If you have mini bridge, I personally like to use the mini bridge. For this tutorial I will only be using the mini bridge method for now.

You can find the mini bridge through Windows –> Extensions –> Mini Bridge

On the mini bridge window click on the rectangle on top and choose the directory of the kit you want to use. Here I use River~Rose’s Creative Soul.

Now choose the background paper that you want for the background and just click on it in the mini bridge view and drag and drop to the template. Notice that in the layer window the paper you chose is now on top of the template paper layer.

Next choose Layer –> Create clipping mask or (Ctrl + Alt + G) to clip the kit paper to the template paper. Notice that the kit paper will become indented.

Repeat the clipping process for all the papers and photos layer. Notice how I have several “clips” for the papers and photos.

Now let’s work on the embellishments (flowers, leaves, ric rac, ribbon, etc.). Basically you choose the embellishment you would like to use from the kit, put it on the place of the template embellishment, copy the layer style of the template elements and paste it on the kit elements.

As you see in the image example, I chose a ribbon and drag it to the position of the template ribbon. Then click on the triangle besides the (fx) on the template ribbon layer to show the drop shadow. Right click on the drop shadow and choose “copy layer style”. Then right click on the kit ribbon and choose “paste layer style”. Now your kit ribbon is shadowed and you can delete the template ribbon by right clicking it again and choose “delete layer”.

Repeat the process for all the template embellishments. If the embellishment is not available in the kit that you use, you can always substitute. For example, the kit that I chose did not have a ric rac so I use another ribbon in the place of it. Also, you can resize or rotate the kit elements to fit the page best.

Next for the title, select the “T” on the right and click on the “Title Here” on the template and type in your title. You can change the font type, size and color according to what works best with the kit and your design. It’s the same with the journaling, just delete the words in the template and type in with your own journaling.

Final page:

This is the basic use of a template. Once you get the hang of it you can of course make a lot of changes to it. You can add more elements, delete elements, rotate the template or resize it.

Hope the tutorial help. If you have any questions, don’t hesitate to ask and I’ll help you out the best that I can.

5 thoughts on “Tutorial: How to make layouts with templates

  1. LOL I have been scrapping for over 2 years now and you just proved you can still learn new things! I didn’t even know how to use that Bridge function and would constantly be clicking the Open button to browse through the kit so thanks for showing that option😉

  2. I didn’t have any idea about that Bridge function either. Of course, I’ve had PSCS 5 for almost 2 years and have barely used it because I’m intimidated by it… More tutorials like yours and it will seem like a piece of cake! Thank you so much. 🙂

  3. I am actually quite surprised that a lot of people don’t know about the mini-bridge function. I guessed I was lucky that I upgraded from Photoshop Element and it had similar function. So when I got PS CS5 I immediately checked to see if it had similar function. I just thought that with a program that much more expensive, it SHOULD have it. Hehehe.

  4. Im new and I have tons of templates and just started looking for a tutorial that’s wasn’t a video they are hard to follow when trying to do the page..There are several types of temps and I cant find how to do them, especially the type that’s like a qp and how do you apply the layers? Also so may tutorials and photoshop and I think there are more people that cant afford photoshop and don’t know how to use it..I just got PSE12 and I would like to see more tutorials with that program..

Leave a Reply

